Roundels of the World

United Arab Emirates Letter 'U' Asia Middle-East Map

After a british protectorate established since the 19th century, the federation of the United Arab Emirates gained its independancy on the 2nd December 1971. The UAE include 7 emirates : Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fuja´rah. The emirates od Abu Dhabi and Dubai are the most important of the federation, and them only have real air forces (Abu Dhabi Air Force, Dubai Air Wing). The markings 'UAE AIR FORCE' or 'UNITED ARAB EMIRATES AIR FORCE' are sometimes painted on the aircraft (AH-64, C-130). The other emirates have mainly transport aircraft, helicopters, or VIP aircraft, some flying under civilian registration. The emirate of Sharjah once had a Short Skyvan, bearing 'SH' codes (propably for Sharjah) and 'AGAW' marking (Amari Guard Air Wing), which has been transfered to Dubai Air Wing.
Flag Top

Flag, one red vertical stripe, three horizontal stripes, black white green.

The flag is sported on the tail of the aircraft. The vertical red strip is always towards the front.

Roundel Top

Roundel, three concentric stripes, black white green, red vertical sector.

The roundel is sported at the 6 classical positions, although sometimes missing on the fuselage of the Mirage 2000s. The red sector is always towards the front on the wings, and at the top on the fuselage.
Photo Alexandre Dubath :

Variation Top

Low visibility roundel as sported by the AH-64s.

Ambiguities Top

© 2002-2006 Roundels of the World - Contact - Updated on 21.09.05, hits. Valid HTML 4.01!