Roundels of the World

Congo (Rep. Dem. of) Letter 'C' Africa South Africa Map

A former belgian colony, the Belgian Congo, or Congo-Kinshasa (named after the capital), got its independence in 1960, and was named the Republic of Congo, then Democratic Republic of Congo. the Democratic Republic of Congo changed its name to Zaire in 1971. In 1999, president Joseph-Désiré Mobutu of Zaire was supplanted by Laurent-Désiré Kabila. The country then used again its former name of Democratic Republic of Congo.
Flag Top

Flag, blue background, one yellow star in the middle, 6 smaller stars on the left.

© 2002-2006 Roundels of the World - Contact - Updated on 03.09.05, hits. Valid HTML 4.01!